Click here to whatsapp +91 9650632558

While there are 12 signs or rasis as explained earlier, the Zodiac is further marked by 27 constellations (Nakshatras). The first constellation Aswani synchronizes with first point of Aries. Each constellation measures 13° 20’ of arc (Here I may explain that mark ‘0’indicates degree and the mark “ ‘ “ indicates minutes) These are not measurement of time, but of the stretch of the constellation. So one constellation or Nakshatra measures 13° 20’ of arc and consists of four quarters of 13° 20’ each. These 27 constellation comprise a sign. The signs or constellation are both reckoned from the same point, namely, the Zero degree of the Aries, the first sign of the Zodiac.

Like the signs the Constellations are owned by the various planets. Here even Rahu and Ketu have ownership over certain constellations the 27 constellations and their lords are given below:

Constellation Lord
Aswin Ketu
Bharini Venus
Krittika Sun
Rohini Moon
Mrigsira Mars
Aridra Rahu
Punarvasu Jupiter
Pushyami Saturn
Aslesha Mercury
Magha Ketu
Poorva-Phalguni Venus
Uttara-Phalguni Sun
Hasta Moon
Chitra Mars
Swati Rahu
Vishakha Jupiter
Anuradha Saturn
Jyestha Mercury
Moola Ketu
Poorva-Ashada Venus
Uttara-Ashada Sun
Shravan Moon
Dhanistha Mars
Satabhisha Rahu
Poorva- Bhadra Jupiter
Uttara- Bhadra Saturn
Revati Mercury


It has been mentioned earlier that one Rasi or sign contains 2-1/4 nakshatras. The longitudinal span of a rasi being 30° and of a constellation being 13° 20’, the Constellations or nakshatras are accommodated under the twelve signs as shown in the following table:

Rasis Nakshatras Span in degrees & minutes
1. Aries Aswini(1,2,3,4) 0° to 13°-20’
Bharini(1,2,3,4) 13°-20’ to 26°-40’
Krittika(1) 26°-40’ to 30°-00’
2. Taurus Krittika(2,3,4) 0°-00’ to 10°-00’
Rohini(1,2,3,4) 10°-00’ to 23°-20’
Mrigsira(1,2) 23°-20’ to 30°-00’
3. Gemini Mrigsira(3,4) 0°-00’ to 6°-40’
Aridra(1,2,3,4) 6°-40’ to 20°-00’
Punarvasu(1,2,3) 20°-00’ to 30°-00’
4. Cancer Punarvasu(4) 0°-00’ to 3°-20’
Pushyami(1,2,3,4) 3°-20’ to 16°-40’
Aslesha(1,2,3,4) 16°-40’ to 30°-00’
5. Leo Magha(1,2,3,4) 0°-00’ to 3°-20’
Purva Phalguni (1,2,3,4) 13°-20’ to 26°-40’
Uttara Phalguni(1) 6°-40’ to 30°-00’
6. Virgo Uttara Phalguni(2,3,4) 0°-00’ to 10°-00’
Hasta(1,2,3,4) 10°-00’ to 23°-20’
Chitra(1,2) 23°-20’ to 30°-00’
7. Libra Chitra(3,4) 0°-00’ to 6°-40’
Swati(1,2,3,4) 6°-40’ to 20°-00’
Vishakha 20°-00’ to 30°-00’
8. Scorpio Vishakha(4) 0°-00’ to 3°-20’
Anuradha(1,2,3,4) 3°-20’ to 16°-40’
Jyestha(1,2,3,4) 16°-40’ to 30°-00’
9. Sagittarius Moola(1,2,3,4) 0°-00’ to 13°-20’
Poorvashada(1,2,3,4) 13°-20’ to 26°-40’
Uttarashada(1) 26°-40’ to 30°-00’
10. Capricorn Uttarashada(2,3,4) 0°-00’ to 10°-00’
Shravana(1,2,3,4) 10°-00’ to 23°-20’
Dhanishta(1,2) 23°-20’ to 30°-00’
11. Aquarius Dhanishta(3,4) 0°-00’ to 6°-40’
Shatabhisha(1,2,3,4) 6°-40’ to 20°-00’
Poorvabhadra(1,2,3) 20°-00’ to 30°-00’
12. Pisces Poorvabhadra(4) 0°-00’ to 3°-20’
Uttarabhadra(1,2,3,4) 3°-20’ to 16°-40’
Revati(1,2,3,4) 16°-40’ to 30°-00’


The figures 1, 2, 3 or 4 within brackets against the names of constellation are the padas (charan) Viz. 1 is for first Pada, 2 is for second pada and so on. It should be seen that some constellations have all their four padas within a sign or rasi while the others have only one, two or three padas and the remaining one falling under the next sign.

It will be seen that under Aries there are four padas of Aswani, Four padas of Bharini and one pada of Krittika. Now if the longitude of the moon or the sunor any other planet is Aries 15°-20’ it falls in 1st pada of Bharini which extends 13°-20’ to 16°-40’. If the longitudes of the planet is scorpio 30-45’, it falls under the 1st pada of Anuradha which extends from 3°-20’ to 6°-40’. The position in respect of the first example is that Aries being sign the sign lord is Mars and the constellation being Bharini the constellation lord is Venus. In the second example the sign being scorpio the sign lord is Marsand constellation being Vishakha the constellation or Nakshatra lord is Jupiter Thus within one sign there will be influence of two planets namely of the sign lord as well as the constellation lord. The effect of these influences will be dealt with when we reach Judge a natives horoscope.

consult - Constellations (Nakshatra), find my peace
katyayni - Constellations (Nakshatra), find my peace

Ms. Katyayni Sharma Astrologer, Tarot Card Reader, Vastu Consultant, Holistic Healer

Consult at INR 750/- only BOOK NOW BUTTON - Constellations (Nakshatra), find my peace